GABCO Online

Henry County Commission Chair-Elect: Carlotta Harrell’s New Transition Team

Incoming Henry County Commission Chair Carlotta Harrell has named a 30-person transition team to help guide the new administration as she prepares to take office on Dec. 16.

The team includes 30 community leaders, consisting of current and former elected officials, local business owners and executives, and non-profit administrators. The group, according to Harrell, was “thoughtfully assembled” to offer diverse and informed viewpoints as the administration weighs its policy priorities as well as possible structural reform recommendations.

“Henry County is changing a great deal. Our demographics are shifting. The county and Southern Crescent region are experiencing tremendous growth,” Harrell said in a release. “That’s why it was critical to get the makeup of this team just right. We will chart a bold, deliberate course forward, and we need the best minds in the room to help do that. But we must also be careful not to run before we can walk; or, in our haste to achieve change, ignore wisdom gleaned from the past. To do that, we need to hear from everyone. And I believe that through this group, we will.”

Harrell said that she asked the group for input in identifying models from around the country that Henry County might learn from as they take up challenges, particularly in the areas of community policing models, innovative economic development and quality of life improvements.

“As someone who has served with both the Georgia Bureau of Investigation as well as the Henry County Police Department, public safety is always front of mind for me,” said Harrell. “A primary focus will be strengthening the bonds of trust between the community and our officers.”

Transition Team in Full:

  • Pam Bettis, Henry County solicitor
  • Alex Cohilas, city of Hampton
  • David Curry, State Revenue Commission
  • Mary Elizabeth Davis, Henry County Schools
  • Preston Dorsey, city of McDonough
  • Brett Embry, Geosam Capital US
  • Lindy Farmer, Henry County Water Authority
  • Ebony Gurndy, Bank of America
  • Dr. Lily Henson, Piedmont Henry Hospital
  • Warren Holder, former Henry County Commissioner
  • Toni Holmes, WeAreHR, LLC
  • Brandon Hutchinson, Atlanta Motor Speedway
  • Randy Knighton, city of Stockbridge
  • Ryan M. Larosa, Medical Association of Georgia
  • Dana Lemon, Georgia Department of Transportation
  • David Linton, Henry County Development Authority
  • Rosa Marroquin, Georgia Power
  • Kenyatta Mitchell, HNTB
  • Brandeis Parkman, Ohio River South
  • Darius Pattillo, Henry County district attorney
  • Adam Price, Falcon Design Consultants
  • Dawn Randolph, Georgia State University
  • Richard Ray, Worker’s Compensation Advisory Board
  • Reginald Scandrett, sheriff-Elect
  • Ariel Shaw, Southern Crescent Women in Business
  • W. Murphy Talmadge, Barnes & Thornburg LLP
  • Marcia G. Taylor, Bennett Companies
  • Dr. Alvetta P. Thomas, Southern Crescent Technical College
  • Andy Welch, Smith, Welch, Webb, & White
  • Tim Young, city of Locust Grove